Close

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 130
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    If it was built it would not grenade though. Still, making the car understand that is the whole problem. This all foreign territory for me, I find it idiotic torque limits are so hard to raise.
    It would still grenade if the trans was built unless the software was tuned for the upgraded hardware and additional tq. We tried upgraded internals alone in Keith's car with no success. The whole file needs to be remapped for a built trans to work and hold serious power/torque. Removing the limiters alone would only result in blown trans after blown trans. It's really a catch 22 situation and is the ultimate limiting factor for any M156 63 AMG.

    No doubt the M157 is going to be easier to extract the performance from and that will come faster. I'm just speaking on paper the M156 if it didn't have all the difficulties would be incredibly strong with boost since it is fairly efficient to begin with in NA form.
    The M156 was designed for twin turbos from the get go. The 80 degree vee angle was implemented so snails could fit on both sides. There are even parts of the cylinder head (exhaust ports) that tell you what the motor was destined for, however due to the emissions/fuel economy bull$#@! MB decided to TT and DI the "$#@!" motor 5.5L. I'm convinced a factory TT M156 would have been one of the greatest motors of all time. It still is without the FI actually.

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MHP LLC Click here to enlarge
    The M156 was designed for twin turbos from the get go. The 80 degree vee angle was implemented so snails could fit on both sides. There are even parts of the cylinder head (exhaust ports) that tell you what the motor was destined for, however due to the emissions/fuel economy bull$#@! MB decided to TT and DI the "$#@!" motor 5.5L. I'm convinced a factory TT M156 would have been one of the greatest motors of all time. It still is without the FI actually.
    I agree, I would simply prefer the M156 to be my boost platform if I could choose. It isn't that simple though.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MHP LLC Click here to enlarge
    t would still grenade if the trans was built unless the software was tuned for the upgraded hardware and additional tq. We tried upgraded internals alone in Keith's car with no success. The whole file needs to be remapped for a built trans to work and hold serious power/torque. Removing the limiters alone would only result in blown trans after blown trans. It's really a catch 22 situation and is the ultimate limiting factor for any M156 63 AMG.
    I don't understand why it would still blow if the hardware was upgraded? I understand it couldn't be fully utilized and I thought this would cause errors but why would it grenade due to software?

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I agree, I would simply prefer the M156 to be my boost platform is I could choose. It isn't that simple though.
    No it's never that simple and there are always other considerations to be made.

    I don't understand why it would still blow if the hardware was upgraded? I understand it couldn't be fully utilized and I thought this would cause errors but why would it grenade due to software?
    One reason would be that some replacement parts aren't the same dimensionally speaking as stock meaning software changes are necessary as well in order to compensate ie clutch pack thickness.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MHP LLC Click here to enlarge
    One reason would be that some replacement parts aren't the same dimensionally speaking as stock meaning software changes are necessary as well in order to compensate ie clutch pack thickness.
    I see, well that is a hell of a problem you guys have on your hands.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I see, well that is a hell of a problem you guys have on your hands.
    Problem is it's not the only one and there are much larger hurdles.

    We were ready to work with Stage 6 on TT kits for C63s 2 years ago (nearly), but after taking everything into consideration decided against it for the very same reasons we are seeing come out today.

    N/A we can stay reliable and not run into the tq limiter issues while still making the HP. Then we spray until we hit the limit. That's how you make max power in a M156 with 7G.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MHP LLC Click here to enlarge
    N/A we can stay reliable and not run into the tq limiter issues while still making the HP. Then we spray until we hit the limit.
    What is the tq limit?

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    What is the tq limit?
    I forget Click here to enlarge But we stay well under it N/A.

    There is a number that has been posted on a few forums, but it's not entirely correct. It's not the tranny's rated limit either.

    Perhaps more telling is the fact that we managed to destroy stock and aftermarket built trannys with TCU tq limiters in place...

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    152
    Rep Points
    160.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Thank you guys once again for your great interest. The staff at Weistec has had vast experience in aftermarket/oem engineering and calibration. We have successfully completed many projects in the oem market and obtained full vehicles certs and E.O. numbers. To answer some questions, we have performed vigorous tests with the stock engine and transmission under boost. We are also running the factory ECM, no piggyback. Rest assured our Stage 1 kit will give the end user a safe, fun, and ultimately, a 50 state legal supercharger kit. For the customers looking for more performance, we will be offering a few upgrades in different stages, including upgraded engine internals, and transmission parts. Pricing for our kits will be very obtainable as well.

    Our official test vehicle is a 2011 C63 (for emissions reasons), although prior testing was also done on a 2009 C63. Our test car is 100% stock, other then our supercharger. This kit is made to bolt up to all AMG 63 platforms. We will have many pictures and much more data very soon.
    Stay tuned
    Click here to enlarge

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,608
    Rep Points
    3,236.6
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    33


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I am just impressed by the packaging, looks stock!

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,177
    Rep Points
    933.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    does look really good hope they make it work

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,177
    Rep Points
    933.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    whatever power you can make with bolt ons then you can add that to this kit so the fact that you can get to 500whp w/o the boost is an added bonus in my eyes, assuming the tranny holds up

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MSIZZLE Click here to enlarge
    whatever power you can make with bolt ons then you can add that to this kit so the fact that you can get to 500whp w/o the boost is an added bonus in my eyes, assuming the tranny holds up
    Yep, what he is saying though is that the power will be at the same level with either approach since you can not cross the trans threshold.

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DBFIU Click here to enlarge
    I am just impressed by the packaging, looks stock!
    Yep, very well sorted.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    612
    Rep Points
    420.1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Sticky, OT, what's going on with the formatting of quotes? Makes it hard to read who's saying what...

    Happy New Year, btw.

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by c32AMG-DTM Click here to enlarge
    Sticky, OT, what's going on with the formatting of quotes? Makes it hard to read who's saying what...

    Happy New Year, btw.
    Sorry, was a bug. Should be good now! Happy New Year Click here to enlarge

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    795
    Rep Points
    591.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Anyone found more info?

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by GT3 Click here to enlarge
    Anyone found more info?
    I'm going to check it out in person.

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,278
    Rep Points
    460.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Dude chill out a fuel system coast 2 grand for a very well sought out system at most. you can get all the lines rails and fittings for $600 if the factory stuff is even a limiting factor. Dual bosch 044s intank or with a surge tank is under $500. Injectors are at most $60 a piece.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 600whp S4 Click here to enlarge
    Dude chill out a fuel system coast 2 grand for a very well sought out system at most. you can get all the lines rails and fittings for $600 if the factory stuff is even a limiting factor. Dual bosch 044s intank or with a surge tank is under $500. Injectors are at most $60 a piece.
    I think you just posted in the wrong thread.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,278
    Rep Points
    460.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I think you just posted in the wrong thread.
    No I did not. Some one earlier in the thread stated fueling being very expensive.

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 600whp S4 Click here to enlarge
    No I did not. Some one earlier in the thread stated fueling being very expensive.
    My bad, you didn't quote so I wasn't sure who you were referring to.

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Fuel system is a small cost compared to what's need to "fix" everything else about a FI M156.

  23. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    84
    Rep Points
    114.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I'm going to check it out in person.
    Waiting for your report............

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,713
    Rep Points
    31,536.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sincity Click here to enlarge
    Waiting for your report............
    Need to schedule a time with them, I'll let you know.

  25. #50
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    1,453
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    $15k for any M156, 28k for SLS. Pricing now on website:

    http://weistec.com/products.html

    Told you Click here to enlarge

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •