Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Question Manual Shift Mode

    Pardon my ignorance... I have a question for our members with technical experience and knowledge: The only regret I have for options in my 2012 CLS550 4Matic is that I do not have a 'manual shift mode' for the transmission (available with any of the wheel packages). Is it possible to easily retrofit this option without extensive ECU/TCU modifications? I've heard that some Audi 'Driver Assist' packages can easily be retrofitted with the purchase of the proper dash switch. Is it possible that the CLS harness is all in place and I simply need the proper console switch to activate it? I know this would be far too easy, but I'm compelled to ask... is it a possibility?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 427 Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Is it possible to easily retrofit this option without extensive ECU/TCU modifications?
    It's definitely just software but I have no idea who could do this. Can the dealer?

    @Jake@Eurocharged.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's definitely just software but I have no idea who could do this. Can the dealer?

    @Jake@Eurocharged.com
    My local dealer is not very helpful when it comes to any mods whatsoever. I'm curious to see if anyone knows if there are differences in the ECU/TCU on vehicles with and without manual shift mode. I'm hoping itz all programmed in and I simply need the korrect switch to activate it... sure would be a nice addition.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 427 Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    My local dealer is not very helpful when it comes to any mods whatsoever. I'm curious to see if anyone knows if there are differences in the ECU/TCU on vehicles with and without manual shift mode. I'm hoping itz all programmed in and I simply need the korrect switch to activate it... sure would be a nice addition.
    Probably everything is the exact same except the software map. It would probably be a dealer who would have to do this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Probably everything is the exact same except the software map. It would probably be a dealer who would have to do this.
    OK, Sticky... thanx for the recommendation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 427 Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    OK, Sticky... thanx for the recommendation.
    Let's see if a tuner has something though, you never know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    31.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    3 out of 3 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I did that on my E550 4matic. Feel free to check out my video that explains how to do it.

    youtu.be/01mJQFgwMaE

    So your dealer has to add two to three codes in your vedoc. After doing that, he has to SCN-code your gearbox AND your Driver Information Center.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by J.M.G. Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I did that on my E550 4matic. Feel free to check out my video that explains how to do it.

    youtu.be/01mJQFgwMaE

    So your dealer has to add two to three codes in your vedoc. After doing that, he has to SCN-code your gearbox AND your Driver Information Center.
    Embedded for you:


  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    31.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Thank you Sir. Somehow I did not have the right to post a video-link or...I am just a PC-dummy Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by J.M.G. Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Thank you Sir. Somehow I did not have the right to post a video-link or...I am just a PC-dummy Click here to enlarge
    You need 5 rep points for links.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Rep Points
    24.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Will that sds mod with a 2013 e550?
    2009 Nissan GTR Gun Metallic
    2012 Jaguar XKR Polaris White
    2007 Ferrari F430 F1 Bianco Fuji
    2011 Audi R8 V10 Spyder Misano Red
    2008 Bentley Continental GTC Mulliner Glacier White
    2007 Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder E-Gear Arancio Borealis
    (I really rent out the top 6 cars. I'm not this cool. FYI.)
    1995 Eclipse GSX Northstar White
    2013 Mercedes E550 Diamond White
    1998 Toyota Supra Turbo 6spd Renaissance Red

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bp95gsx Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Will that sds mod with a 2013 e550?
    Not sure what you are asking?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by J.M.G. Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I did that on my E550 4matic. Feel free to check out my video that explains how to do it.

    youtu.be/01mJQFgwMaE

    So your dealer has to add two to three codes in your vedoc. After doing that, he has to SCN-code your gearbox AND your Driver Information Center.
    Many THANX for posting this... much appreciated! Unfortunately, it may be a while before I can look into this on the C218 platform... been out of work for a while due to a lingering illness.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    J.M.G. - Please allow me to follow-up with a few questions:
    1) I take it there was no need to replace your dash switch? If so, do you simply continue to press the 'E' & 'S' to eventually activate the 'M' mode?
    2) Do you feel everything is working properly... as if it was factory installed?
    3) Are you willing to share an approximate cost for this mod (or via PM)?
    4) Given your experience, was it worth it... would you do it over again?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    108,273
    Rep Points
    26,766.6
    Mentioned
    1793 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    268


    Reputation: Yes | No

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    31.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 427 Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    J.M.G. - Please allow me to follow-up with a few questions:
    1) I take it there was no need to replace your dash switch? If so, do you simply continue to press the 'E' & 'S' to eventually activate the 'M' mode?
    That is absolutely correct. You can keep that E/S-push-button and cycle through the modes by continuing pushing it. Replacing this button was like 130 here in Germany and I was unwilling to pay this kind of sum for a cosmetic thing only.

    2) Do you feel everything is working properly... as if it was factory installed?
    It is 100% identical except for the button itself.

    3) Are you willing to share an approximate cost for this mod (or via PM)?
    This might depend on a few factors. This mod is not approved by Mercedes. Therefore it can't be found in any pricelist. So it is (a) up to the dealer IF the do it and (b) also HOW MUCH they charge. My dealer does everything on my cars since 2008, so we have a good relationship. The bill was ~40 or so.

    4) Given your experience, was it worth it... would you do it over again?
    It depends. On my 211.272 (S 211 wagon E 550 T) I used it quite a lot, as the 7g-Tronic was pretty slow. On my 212 E550 I exclusively use it when I do not want the engine to downshift, even if I am going WOT. These cases are pretty rare - maybe once a month or so, when going to the mountains. Then I am using "M" and set the car into 4th which is actually a great gear from 20-130mph.

    Everything I described in the video can be done on the 218 as well. It also works on the 204 Facelift / MoPf.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Excellent info... THANX again for your help!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    168
    Rep Points
    142.5
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by J.M.G. Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    On my 212 E550 I exclusively use it when I do not want the engine to downshift, even if I am going WOT. These cases are pretty rare - maybe once a month or so, when going to the mountains.
    Whoa?!?! Your car doesn't downshift at WOT in manual mode? One of those codes might be useful for those of us with stock AMG package and paddles. When the guys at cp-e were attempting to dyno my car, the trans kept downshifting on them and preventing a good pull.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by nawlinstornado Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    When the guys at cp-e were attempting to dyno my car, the trans kept downshifting on them and preventing a good pull.
    I had the exact same problem... eventually, we were able to 'feather' 4th gear and complete the pull.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    168
    Rep Points
    142.5
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 427 Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I had the exact same problem... eventually, we were able to 'feather' 4th gear and complete the pull.
    We thought about that. But if you're feathering the throttle, how are you able to get a solid measurement of max(T) and max(P)? There's got to be a technical way to lock the transmission.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by nawlinstornado Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    We thought about that. But if you're feathering the throttle, how are you able to get a solid measurement of max(T) and max(P)? There's got to be a technical way to lock the transmission.
    You are correct, I doubt I obtained perfect numbers... but it was the best we could do under the circumstances. If you look at my dyno sheet (SEE THIS POST), you will note the initial fluctuation in the curve (I also mentioned the kickdown problem we experienced in the text).

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    31.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Hi,
    when in "M" mode, just make sure that you do not press the throttle beyond the kick down point. So lower your foot up to the slight resistance. The engine will work at 100% at that throttle position.

    Going beyond that point won't change the engine performance but has only an effect on your gearbox. It will command a maximum downshift (all E-class in "M" mode but AMGs).

    In "S" and "E" it is, however, not possible to prevent the car from downshifting even when not going beyond the kick down point.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    10
    Rep Points
    31.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Hi "427",
    I just did a quick video from 0-159mph. Yes, I really changed my DIC from km/h to mph for you guys! Click here to enlarge

    At the end (you might want to skip to 0:45 min) I did include a WOT acceleration in m-mode. 4th gear. WOT (without kickdown) and the car does not shift down.

    Feel free to watch my short video:

    Greetings from Germany,
    Johannes

    Feel free to check my Youtube-Page: CLICK

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    74
    Rep Points
    285.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by J.M.G. Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hi "427",
    I just did a quick video from 0-159mph. Yes, I really changed my DIC from km/h to mph for you guys! Click here to enlarge

    At the end (you might want to skip to 0:45 min) I did include a WOT acceleration in m-mode. 4th gear. WOT (without kickdown) and the car does not shift down.
    Excellent video... THANX for all your time and effort!
    I can't wait to get healthy and finally back driving again...

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    6
    Rep Points
    18.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Didnt know that there was no manual mode in non AMG packages, thats very weired

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •