Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 55
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Willing to pay for fix. Tech geeks come in here. Problem with phone

    So i have the nexus 1 phone with T-mobile. I decided to update it to the froyo 2.2 operating system. I downloaded it to my laptop and put it on my sd card. I installed it with directions as per the websites.


    Now everything works great except for 1 little problem. I have no phoene. I click on the little phone thing and it says "Application is not installed on your phone."

    All my email and stuff comes up. Except for my phone and text messeging. I downloaded a txt app off of the market and it works. But when i click on the actual txting option that is built in the phone it force closes on me...


    Now some 1 told me that i need to "root" it or something. Like download the original froyo system and then update?

    Has any 1 done this succesfuly and has the links that are still alive where i can down load it?


    If you dont know and are just going to come in here and tell me to google it or give me info with out any supporting documents please save ur self the time..


    The first person to help me and gives me live links and instructions to solving my problem, I am willing to paypal 5 dollars for their kind effort. (if my phone works)
    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Oh snap.
    You might have bricked the phone.
    God damnit.
    Yea, to download the operating system, you need to have Superuser permission.

    So mount it....and take a screen shot. I can help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    mount it and take a screen shot? What do you mean? I have an app that says "superuser permissions" a ninja looking guy with a green thing over his eye.
    Click here to enlarge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    FU
    Posts
    1,056
    Rep Points
    -454.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    www
    milkt org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Ugh.
    So the phone button doesn't work then? But you have SuperUser Permission?
    Were you trying to go from 2.1 to 2.2?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by unfor Click here to enlarge
    Ugh.
    So the phone button doesn't work then? But you have SuperUser Permission?
    Were you trying to go from 2.1 to 2.2?
    Yes. But it was on a new sd card. I bought the phone used and the guy took his sd card and i plugged in my old 1 out of my G1 phone.
    Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Okay, so we manually need to push the correct file on the phone.
    Now I need some information.
    What was the exact file name you downloaded?
    That will determine how we can get the phone to work.

    It should be..

    ERExx,
    FRF50
    FRF72
    FRF83

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I dont know. I renamed it to "update.zip" Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Oh boy....
    Okay....
    Here is what we need to do:

    Download the SDK:

    http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

    1) Select "Accept all" when choose packages to install windw shops up.
    2) Rename the folder "android -sdk-windows" to something you can easily remember
    3) Move above folder to the roof of C:

    If you get a message that says "failed to fetch url" you can force donwload.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Edit: I have a very important meeting now (11am)

    Just do that for now then I can help when get back.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Oh ok i downloaded that last night but couldnt figure out wtf to do with it. I will have to do it tonight becuase all the updates are huge and cant dowload at work Click here to enlarge What do i do after i do that?
    Click here to enlarge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    FU
    Posts
    1,056
    Rep Points
    -454.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    He said he had to go to a meeting.
    Please be patient
    AND
    request his Paypal account to you can pay him as you noted you would.

    Thanks
    Click here to enlarge
    www
    milkt org

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by milkt Click here to enlarge
    He said he had to go to a meeting.
    Please be patient
    AND
    request his Paypal account to you can pay him as you noted you would.

    Thanks
    Thank you for the help...


    Oh wait...
    There was none...
    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    FU
    Posts
    1,056
    Rep Points
    -454.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    www
    milkt org

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Hahaha. I don't expect any $$$$ to help.
    You downloaded a corrupt file.
    Now you need to use the SDK to manually push the correct file in your phone.
    Otherwise..you're going to have an expensive piece of paper weight!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 05m3smg Click here to enlarge
    Oh ok i downloaded that last night but couldnt figure out wtf to do with it. I will have to do it tonight becuase all the updates are huge and cant dowload at work Click here to enlarge What do i do after i do that?
    Lets take it one step at a time.
    Need to send you a new bootup image after...

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    FU
    Posts
    1,056
    Rep Points
    -454.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by unfor Click here to enlarge
    You downloaded a corrupt file.
    !
    Yeah, he has a problem downloading prawn ... and the wrong kind.
    Last edited by milkt; 08-12-2010 at 01:12 PM.
    Click here to enlarge
    www
    milkt org

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by unfor Click here to enlarge
    Hahaha. I don't expect any $$$$ to help.
    You downloaded a corrupt file.
    Now you need to use the SDK to manually push the correct file in your phone.
    Otherwise..you're going to have an expensive piece of paper weight!
    Click here to enlarge damnnn..


    I will be on my laptop tonight around 8oclock... will you be on here?
    Click here to enlarge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by milkt Click here to enlarge
    Yeah, he has a problem downloading prawn ... and the wrong kind.
    the village called....
    Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Dont worry man,
    It can be fixed. Just takes some patience You're lucky you didnt download a trojan.
    Then your phone wouldn't even turn out.

    Ill try to be here around 8. If i cant be, ill write here.

    But it can be fixed. Thats the important thing

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks. So when Im downloading the updates. Do i need to have the Nexus plugged in to the laptop?
    Click here to enlarge

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Yea, but ill explain that later because you need to disable USB debugging.

    Just do SDK first. The rest is moderately difficult.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    So update sdk and wait for the update to down load while nexus is plugged in to laptop with usb?
    Click here to enlarge

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,265
    Rep Points
    552.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    No.
    Download SDK but DO NOT have the N1 plugged into laptop.
    Download the SDK first, then disable USB debugging, then plug it in.

    Then I will PM you files to push manually with code in your command prompt on your laptop.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    left lane
    Posts
    903
    Rep Points
    218.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Ok so i downloaded sdk.... Waiting on next order of business
    Click here to enlarge

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •