Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,264
    Rep Points
    32,704.9
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No

    RAM upgrade advice

    So, I only got the base 4 gigs in my laptop that is coming in as I will upgrade myself since Dell charges retarded money for 16-32 gigs.

    My question is do I go with 1600 speed @ CAS 9 or the new 1866 at CAS 11?

    Less latency should offer better response but higher speed will have higher throuhput ultimately.

    Not sure which way to go.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,106
    Rep Points
    1,236.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Yes Reputation No
    Look for someone that has bench numbers already. Will your motherboard even support 1866hz RAM? This is DDR3?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,264
    Rep Points
    32,704.9
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SlicktopTTZ Click here to enlarge
    Look for someone that has bench numbers already. Will your motherboard even support 1866hz RAM? This is DDR3?
    Yes and it supports 1866.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,106
    Rep Points
    1,236.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Yes and it supports 1866.
    I say go for it then. If your board isn't locked you can tweak RAM timings too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hanover, MD
    Posts
    1,243
    Rep Points
    697.1
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    I think 5nails is the man to ask currently but in my experience you'll get more benefit from frequency if the clock speeds are at all similar (your case).
    Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    149
    Rep Points
    207.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    As long as your motherboard supports it, then generally higher speed is preferred over lower timings. That's a lot of ram, have fun.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,075
    Rep Points
    1,142.0
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    the 4GBs you're getting is 1 stick right? if so, you should probably have room for 3 more slots. I don't think -2 cas is better than 266mhz.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,264
    Rep Points
    32,704.9
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DarkPhantom Click here to enlarge
    the 4GBs you're getting is 1 stick right? if so, you should probably have room for 3 more slots. I don't think -2 cas is better than 266mhz.
    4 gb's per stick, so looks like only 16 gigs for now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    885
    Rep Points
    8.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Just get the higher rated FSB memory. Don't pay for anything with lower CAS or timings because you likely cannot overclock it anyway.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,264
    Rep Points
    32,704.9
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 5mall5nail5 Click here to enlarge
    Just get the higher rated FSB memory. Don't pay for anything with lower CAS or timings because you likely cannot overclock it anyway.
    $100 difference between the two for 16 gigs, even worth it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    885
    Rep Points
    8.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    If the FSB will bump based on SPD detection then why not, but if its going to default to a safe speed then not at all. The BIOS won't let you push to 1800MHz so make sure its going to clock up, because most will run at 1600 MHz regardless, unless slow RAM is inserted.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,264
    Rep Points
    32,704.9
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 5mall5nail5 Click here to enlarge
    If the FSB will bump based on SPD detection then why not, but if its going to default to a safe speed then not at all. The BIOS won't let you push to 1800MHz so make sure its going to clock up, because most will run at 1600 MHz regardless, unless slow RAM is inserted.
    They say for sandy bridge motherboards it is 1866 plug and play...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    885
    Rep Points
    8.0
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Then go for it


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,075
    Rep Points
    1,142.0
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    ^what he said.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •